HomeWorldQuad countries sign humanitarian aid and disaster relief agreement

Quad countries sign humanitarian aid and disaster relief agreement

India, US, Australia and Japan to sign HADR agreement in view of Ukraine conflict and climate related events

India, US, Australia and Japan to sign HADR agreement in view of Ukraine conflict and climate related events

United Nations

The foreign ministers of the quad group of countries – India, the US, Australia and Japan – met on Friday on the sidelines of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) to sign the Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief (HADR) partnership.

External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar said, World was going through a difficult period – enlisting Ukraine conflict and climate events, and said it was particularly important for the Quad to pursue a “constructive agenda” and work together to deliver public goods. The Quad originated in the HADR partnership in the wake of the devastating Indian Ocean tsunami in 2004. According to Mr Jaishankar, the HADR partnership was finalized at the Quad Summit in Tokyo in May.

Mr Jaishankar said other initiatives are under way and highlighted several programs announced earlier: a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) fellowship, an economic framework with other partners (possibly part of the Indo Pacific Economic). A Reference Framework), and a maritime domain awareness initiative that was announced in Tokyo.

Significantly, Mr. Jaishankar brought reforms in the United Nations system, a long-standing objective of India but given additional thrust at this year’s UN High-Level Week.

“Today, I think it is an opportunity for us to discuss, together, how to strengthen the multilateral system led by the United Nations,” Mr. Jaishankar said. Earlier on Friday, Mr Jaishankar had attended a high-level breakfast, including South Africa, Brazil, Nicaragua, Maldives and Bhutan, an official said, “reinforcing multilateralism and achieving comprehensive reform of the Security Council”. In which ministers of about 30 countries were involved. ,

“I think our meeting today – the document we are going to sign – is proof that the Quad is strong and is getting stronger,” Blinken said, adding that he hopes the UNGA is on the sidelines. will become a regular feature.

Australia’s Foreign Minister Penny Wong said the Quad was about bringing tangible benefits to the region and ensuring that the region was “peaceful, stable, prosperous and in which sovereignty is respected”.

Japan’s Foreign Minister Yoshimasa Hayashi said the world was witnessing “direct attempts to unilaterally change the status quo by force” and that the international order based on the rule of law was in danger. He highlighted the importance of the meeting – a demonstration of commitment to the United Nations Charter and a “free and open Indo-Pacific”.

Hello Friends, My Name is Raushan Kumar. I am a Part-Time Blogger and Student. I am author of https://searchnews.in . We're dedicated to providing you the best of News, with a focus on Business, Health, Lifestyle, World, Tech, India, Gadget.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -