HomeWorldCheetah Vs Leopard Vs Jaguar: After 70 Years Cheetah To Run In...

Cheetah Vs Leopard Vs Jaguar: After 70 Years Cheetah To Run In India – Know Your Different Big Cats!

After 7 long decades of extinction, the roar of cheetahs can once again be heard in India. A special cargo Boeing 747 chartered flight carrying eight cheetahs from Namibia landed at the Indian Air Force Station in Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh on Saturday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will release cheetahs at Kuno National Park in Madhya Pradesh on his 72nd birthday today. The cheetah, jaguar and leopard are often confused with each other, but the fact is that all of these large cells have their own distinctive features. While cheetahs are the fastest, jaguars are the largest. The leopard easily climbs the trees. Let’s look at some of the fascinating differences between the three big cats. Other big cats include the tiger, lion, leopard and cougar.


With the ability to go from zero to 96 km (60 mi) in just three seconds to over an hour, the amazing cheetah is the world’s fastest mammal on land. Adult cheetahs can weigh between 34 kg and 56 kg, and males are heavier. The tan (yellowish-brown or orange-brown colour) fur coat is covered with dark round spots and each coat of one animal is distinct from the other. They also have bold black stripes that run down from the inner corners of their eyes like tears on either side of their mouths, and the ends of their bushy tails are surrounded by black rings, National Geographic notes. Cheetahs are the most endangered of the three cats. Asiatic cheetahs were found in India, but due to widespread hunting and habitat loss, they were completely extinct from India in 1952.


Of the three big cats – jaguar, leopard and cheetah – jaguars are the largest. He is considered the third largest cat in the world after the tiger and the lion. Jaguars can weigh anywhere between 65 to 140 kg. But there have also been small females and extraordinarily large male jaguars. The jaguar’s coat ranges from pale yellow to tan or reddish-yellow, with the underside being white and covered with black spots. While the jaguar, like leopards, has rose-shaped spots on its body, but in the case between the two cats, you will see a black dot in the middle of its rosette. Jaguars have great swimming ability and are not found in India.


Leopards live in Sub-Saharan Africa, Northeast Africa, Central Asia, India and China. But outside Africa, these animals are largely endangered. Their specialized muscular bodies allow them to climb trees with ease. As National Geographic explains, “Most leopards are light-colored with distinctive dark spots called rosettes, because they resemble the shape of a rose.” These cats have short legs compared to their long bodies and also have a broad head and a large skull. These feral cats, which spend a large part of their time in trees, are the smallest members of the big cat category and can grow up to six feet tall. The snow leopard is another distinctive variety that is native to the mountain ranges of Central and South Asia.

Also read: 8 Namibian cheetahs coming to India on PM Narendra Modi’s birthday – 10 points

Hello Friends, My Name is Raushan Kumar. I am a Part-Time Blogger and Student. I am author of https://searchnews.in . We're dedicated to providing you the best of News, with a focus on Business, Health, Lifestyle, World, Tech, India, Gadget.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -