HomeLifestyleNavratri 2022: Know about the nine incarnations of Maa Durga performed every...

Navratri 2022: Know about the nine incarnations of Maa Durga performed every day of Navratri

Sharadiya Navratri 2022: and one of the most important Auspicious Hindu Festival of Navratri It is celebrated with great pomp all over the country. It is marked for nine days and nights and honors Goddess Durga. Devotees of Maa Durga observe many rituals, observe fasting (vrat), prepare special dishes, recite shlokas, clean their homes, worship Maa Durga and wear new clothes during this time. In addition, each day of Navratri honors the nine incarnations of Maa Durga or Shakti, also known as Navadurga or the nine forms of Durga. The Drik Panchang says that the concept of Navadurga originated from Goddess Parvati, who is considered the supreme power among all the gods and goddesses. Devotees worship the nine incarnations of Maa Durga and pray for prosperity in their homes and lives.

Nine Avatars of Maa Durga

This year Navratri will start from Monday 26 September and end on Wednesday 5 October. installation (pot or urn installation) – marks the beginning of the nine-day festival. Check out the list of all the nine incarnations of Maa Durga and the days she will be worshiped during Navratri.

(Also read: Navratri 2022 fasting rules: Dos and don’ts during the nine-day festival,

26 September – Maa Shailputri (Ghatasthapana)

first day of Navratri It is dedicated to Maa Shailputri. According to the Drik Panchang, Maa Shailputri is an incarnation of Goddess Parvati, when she was born as the daughter of Lord Himalaya. Shail in Sanskrit means mountain. Hence she is known as Shailputri, the daughter of the mountain.

September 27 – Maa Brahmacharini

On the second day, devotees worship Maa Brahmacharini. She symbolizes the severe penance performed by Goddess Parvati. In this form, Mother Parvati was a great sati.

28 September – Maa Chandraghanta:

Maa Chandraghanta is worshiped on the third day. He is also known as Chandrakhand, Chandika or Ranchandi, and has ten arms and holds a set of arms in his hands.

29 September – Maa Kushmanda

On the fourth day, devotees worship Maa Kushmanda. Maa Kushmanda is known to have created the universe with her smile. The goddess rides a lion and is depicted holding a kamandal, bow, arrow, lotus, trident, a jar of nectar, mace and a wheel with eight hands.

30 September – Mother Skandmata

Goddess Skandmata is worshiped on the fifth day. Kartikeya, the son of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati, is also known as Skanda, and this is how this form of the goddess got her name.

1 October – Maa Katyayani

The sixth day honors Maa Katyayani. According to Hindu mythology, Lord Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva combined their energies to create Maa Katyayani, who killed the demon Mahishasura.

October 2 – Maa Kalratri

Maa Kalratri is worshiped on the seventh day. She is the fiercest form of Goddess Durga, rides a donkey, and has a dark complexion and long loose hair. It is said that when Goddess Parvati removed her outer golden skin to kill the demons named Shumbha and Nishumbha, she came to be known as Goddess Kalratri.

October 3 – Maa Mahagauri (Durga Ashtami)

Maa Mahagauri is worshiped on the eighth day of Navratri. He is a symbol of purity, peace and tranquility. Devotees pray to her, as it is believed that she can fulfill all their wishes.

October 4 – Maa Siddhidatri (Maha Navami)

Devotees worship Maa Siddhidatri on the ninth day of Navratri. She is the ninth form of Maa Durga. Goddess Siddhidatri removes ignorance from her devotees and imparts knowledge to them.

October 5 is the auspicious occasion of Durga Visarjan and Vijayadashami (Dussehra).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular