HomeIndiaBiplab Kumar Deb wins Rajya Sabha by-election

Biplab Kumar Deb wins Rajya Sabha by-election

Former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb registered the expected victory in the Tripura bypolls held on Thursday. He got 43 votes as against 15 of Bhanu Lal Saha of CPI(M).

There was no cross voting in the election and all the MLAs of the ruling BJP and its ally IPFT voted in favor of the BJP candidate. Congress MLA Sudip Roy Burman did not come after his party announced its decision to stay away from the party.

Assembly officials said that 58 members exercised their franchise. Sudip Roy Burman, one member did not participate.

After the resignation of IPFT MLA Brishketu Debbarma earlier this week, the strength of the 60-member Assembly came down to 59.

Newly appointed BJP in-charge for Tripura Mahesh Sharma and Northeast Coordinator Sambit Patra arrived to take stock of the party’s preparations for the Rajya Sabha by-polls. He also held meetings with senior ranks to discuss matters relating to the organisation.

Former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb, who was appointed party’s in-charge for Haryana last week, expressed his gratitude to the BJP and IPFT MLAs from Tripura for electing him as a Rajya Sabha MP. He said he would work for the development of the state and ensure a “big victory” for the saffron party in the assembly elections to be held in February next year.

Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha congratulated Mr Deb and expressed hope that the Rajya Sabha MP would continue to work for the progress of the state under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular